Skip to content

Explorations

Saved Views and Data Models are often starting points for further exploration and analysis. Glean makes it safe and easy to take resources further and share what you've found with the Explorations feature.

Starting and resuming an exploration

screenshot of glean when exploring

Whenever you begin making changes to a resource in the Explorer, Glean will track your changes and give them unique URLs.

Click the X in the Exploring chip to reset back to the resource's default view at any time. Glean will save your place for each resource for you to return to later.

If you've explored a resource before, you will see an option to resume your last Exploration for that resource.

screenshot of glean with the option to resume an exploration

Sharing an exploration

screenshot of glean when sharing an exploration

In the Explorer, you can always click the Exploring chip to copy the URL for your current exploration to the clipboard. You can also simply copy the URL from the address bar of your browser.

When someone else accesses your link, they will be brought to the resource with your Exploration applied. They will see a color header and the name of the person who shared their Exploration.

screenshot of glean when viewing another user's exploration

Warning

While an Exploration link contains configurations such as Breakouts and Filters, it does not freeze and preserve the underlying data. If someone accesses an Exploration and the underlying data has changed, they might not see what was intended.